Penalties decide: RB Leipzig wins the DFB Cup

Penalties decide: RB Leipzig wins the DFB Cup

Mith last effort, RB Leipzig won the first major title in the club’s young history in a thriller final. The Saxon Bundesliga team beat SC Freiburg 4-2 (1-1, 1-1, 0-1) on penalties in the DFB Cup final on Saturday evening after being down 1-0 and outnumbered Title dream in the sold-out Berlin Olympic Stadium burst.

Maximilian Eggestein (19th) initially gave the SC of coach Christian Streich the lead in front of 74,322 spectators, but Christopher Nkunku (76th) saved the extra time for Leipzig, who then celebrated the final victory at the third attempt. Freiburg captain Christian Günter and Ermedin Demirovic missed in the decision from the point.

RB coach Domenico Tedesco won the golden pot at the age of 36 years and 251 days as the youngest winning coach since Hans-Dieter Tipphauer in 1979. The red card against Marcel Halstenberg after an emergency brake (57th) had no effect on the final result.

Both groups of fans ensured the best cup atmosphere. Thousands of Freiburg supporters marched together to the stadium in the afternoon and opened the game with a large banner: “Unique club, the way football is supposed to be!” was written in large letters on the east curve of Freiburg. The history of the Leipzig origins with sponsor Red Bull had again led to a lot of criticism from the active fan scene, especially this week.

Source link