Awards: Three German films win student Oscars

Three German films win student Oscars

In the short film division "narratives" became director W. Reinhart (University for Television and Film Munich) with his film "own

In the "Narrative" short film category, director W. Reinhart (University for Television and Film Munich) was awarded a student Oscar for his film "Eigenheim". photo

© -/University for Television and Film Munich/dpa

Three films from universities in Germany are crowned with a student Oscar. However, the award ceremony in October in Los Angeles remains exciting: It is still unclear who will win gold, silver and bronze.

Among the winners of Student Oscars are three film productions from Germany this year. This was announced by the Oscar Academy in Los Angeles on Thursday (local time). In the short film category "Narrative" two of the three winners come from a German university: Nils Keller ("Almost Home") and Welf Reinhart ("Eigenheim") are both graduates of the University of Television and Film Munich.

In the "Animation" category, directors Jan Gadermann and Sebastian Gadow (Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf) are among the winners. Her stop-motion film "Laika & Nemo" is about an astronaut and a deep-sea diver. Two other winning films in this category come from France and Australia. A total of 10 films by 14 up-and-coming directors from all over the world prevailed. For the 49th edition of the competition this year, 1796 entries were received from 614 study institutions.

It remains exciting

The winners are scheduled to be honored in Los Angeles on October 20. Until then, things will remain exciting for the winners in the animation, narrative and documentary categories. Because the order - gold, silver or bronze - will only be announced at the award ceremony. All award winners can also submit their films to the short film categories at the Oscar-Enter the 2023 competition.

Last year, two up-and-coming directors from German film schools were honored with student Oscars. Murad Abu Eisheh, a graduate of the Baden-Württemberg Film Academy in Ludwigsburg, won the Gold Student Academy Award in the Narrative category for "Tala'vision". The silver trophy in this category went to Simon Denda with his film "Adisa" from the University of Television and Film Munich.

The academy has been honoring foreign directors and young talents from film schools in the USA with the trophies since 1972. The student Oscar has proven to be a stepping stone to a Hollywood career. Directors such as John Lasseter ("Toy Story"), Spike Lee ("Malcolm X"), Robert Zemeckis ("Back to the Future") and Cary Fukunaga ("No Time To Die") are among the previous award winners.

Student Academy Awards Link to press release


Source link